Bragg Jam 2014: What I’m Listening To

So, real talk.

I’m not Justin Cutway or Chris Nylund, people who have learned to play music, taught themselves about music, immersed themselves in music, etc. I’m not an expert. Never claimed to be. But I love music.

I love to sing, even though I can’t carry much of a tune.

I love to dance and will dance until the things required for dancing have long broken down. And as long as my shoulders can move, you know they’ll move!

And I love live music. I enjoy listening to an album over and over again and then discovering the difference between the album and the live set. I enjoy sinking my teeth into the personality that comes out on stage that gets hidden behind the vinyl, plastic, and paper of albums.

But I wasn’t always like that. I would get angry when the artist would deviate from the album. I used to only want to hear covers so I could sing along. And if you were a local band, I only followed a couple of local bands so that I could know them as well as those with albums.

But live music won me over and I’m not looking back.

I’ve been writing a lot about music, so I’m going to take it to it’s most essential. I made a Bragg Jam 2014 playlist. I used Spotify because it is the easiest way to put it together to share, but it was missing Madre Padre.

So, in order of how I’m going to try to see these bands:

Madre Padre: 5:45 – 7:15

Lee Bains III & the Glory Fires – 6:30 – 8:00

Family & Friends – 7:30 – 8:15

Cusses – 7:45-9:15

The Black Cadillacs – 8:30 – 10:00

Kopecky Family Band – 10:15 – 11:30

Moon Hooch – 10:15 – 11:45

American Aquarium – 10:30 – 12:00

Back City Woods – 12:00 – 1:30

JuBee & the Morning After – 12:15 – 1:45

The Whigs – 12:30 – 2:00

 

 

 

Feel free to like, share, copy, listen, etc. And if you make your own playlist, tag me in twitter (@angelcollins1) or leave a link in the comments! 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

