Snacking on Helping Those Who Help the Homeless

Well, we need coins too.

I need money. It’s as simple as that. Whether it’s 25 cents or $25, I need it. But not for myself, although I’ve been close enough to what these people are facing to know that maybe one day I’ll need it as well.

The people I’m talking about are the homeless. Before you roll your eyes remembering some encounter with a person who yelled at you because you wouldn’t hand him a dollar, I want you to consider what I’ve learned as I’ve done research on this subject because, believe it or not, I was just like you. I didn’t give money to anyone and no one deserved my hard earned money.

But when I volunteered with Daybreak, I learned, sitting in that building, that you couldn’t always tell who was homeless and who wasn’t. The person talking about working at the college has been laid off for months, the guy who worked in construction has been underemployed for the last couple of years. The woman working for a restaurant can’t afford to pay rent and is moving from couch to couch trying to stay off the streets. Then there are the people on the streets who don’t ask for money from you and are just trying to find a steady place to get mail or return phone calls for the jobs they are applying for, working for under the table money whenever they can so they can eat.

When we started talking about doing the Donation Stations for the Homeless as a project for our Leadership Macon project, I immediately remembered my experience with Daybreak. Every day I walk downtown and I see people who need help who don’t always know where to get it. They didn’t know there was a place they could be out of the heat, and soon, out of the cold that was close by. They might not know about the fact that Loaves and Fishes offers transitional housing. But even though Loaves and Fishes offer housing, they don’t have nearly enough to help the people who are trying to get their lives back on track. Your donation could help them provide more housing.

Yes, I see the same people you see, but I also see the people you don’t see. I see the person working to make any bit of money they can, but it’s still not enough to pay for the things they need. I see the person who doesn’t have a family to help them. I see the family living in a hotel or at a friend’s house, or in their car, working hard to keep their kids in school without anyone becoming the wiser.

For those of us lucky enough to not have a worry in this dwindling economy, do we really consider the cost of everything when it comes to making ends meet for others? I know many of us are faced with those costs every day and it is by the luck of our choice of friends, where we stay, and our families that have kept us afloat. Please consider giving so that these organizations can help those who are not as fortunate as we are who are missing those elements that we are so grateful to have.

So when I say I need money, I need you to donate to help us get these Donation Stations installed. I want you to come downtown on November 15 at noon with your change, bring your kids with their change, and line up at a Donation Station so the whole city, hell, the whole world, can see that we care about the homeless in Macon, Georgia.

I look forward to hearing what you’d like to donate.

PS – While I need money for these donation stations (and 95% of all monies connected with the Donation Stations go to organizations that provide direct services to the homeless in downtown Macon), The Coalition to End Homelessness will also accept donations and I will put up a list at a later date for those who want to donate items.

If you have any questions, please ask me. I want to assure you that your donations will actually help these organizations continue to offer needed services to the homeless population.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

