Snacking on Festivities

If you’re not leaving the city for the 4th of July, then has Macon got a surprise for you! And I mean surprise in a good way, not surprise in that walk-by-an-empty-storefront-doorway-and-meet-a-homeless-person-SURPRISE! -way. I mean in a more-than-your-money’s-worth-good-time-great-drinks-awesome-music-even awesomer friends- way. Man, Macon, I think I’m growing to love you!

Movies

First Friday is filled with lots of delicious goodies, including $1 beer, $1 pizzas for kids and a $1 movie at the Cox Capitol Theatre (Independence Day – how long has it been since you’ve seen THAT???) on 2nd Street. If you haven’t watched a movie AND eaten food and had a nice beverage in a long time (or ever) tonight’s the night to remind yourself of just how good it can be.

Giveaways

Robins Federal Credit Union is giving away a GPS navigation system to a lucky participant. Go to Robins Federal Credit Union or NewTown Macon (on Mulberry and Cherry Street respectively) and enter your name for a chance to win. Yours truly came in 2nd place in the First Friday Sombrero contest, earning $25 Downtown Dollars to spend at any restaurant of my choice a few months ago. I chose Tokyo Alley because I had been missing their cold noodles and cheese rolls. Mmmmm, so delicioso. So don’t think you can’t win. Go enter if step by step directions make your heart pitter patter. NewTown Macon is also hosting events in Third Street Park (at Cherry and Third) that includes sandcastle building and live music by Joey Stuckey. It’s been a while since I heard him, so I’m gonna have to go see if he remembers me!

Music -Drinks -Food: Oh My!

There are a number of spots open later for the 4th with meal specials or live performances. If you’ve missed out on Molly’s Cafe on Cherry Street because you don’t get downtown before 6pm, then tonight is the night because they have a prime rib special. Call to make reservations 478.744.9898. Market City’s kitchen will be open until 9pm where you know you’ll get good food and good drinks. Now I want a thin crust pizza from them. Greek Corner Deli will have a live band (which means they will be open late, which means you can grab yourself a gyro for your walk or before you go to the Arts Exchange!),Grant’s Lounge on Poplar Street will have Old Soul featuring Bo Ponder , The Rookery has live music by Jeremy and Ryan, Luigi’s Bistro will have live music by Josh Campbell and Jared Wright, which you should check out before heading over the the Hummingbird Stage and Taproom to rock out to MagTard (our Magnificent Bastard with a necessary, uncopyrighted name change) and their friends the Pinx! The admission is just $5, the drinks are good and that’s where you’ll see me if you want to tell me how fabulous I am!

The new spot for local music, the 567 Cafe will be hosting One Bad Catholic and Profound Breadth tonight, so give them a listen. I heard One Bad Catholic on the ones and twos at a City Council concert. Yeah, I’m gonna pop my head in.

Even though I had to go on a rage rampage on the Brackett-Wold porch because of the grilled cheese sandwich incident (if you’re not voting at Coffee Cake Extravaganza, you have been missing something), I will still give a shout out to Club Synergy’s Absolut Red and White party. Pay admission today for the “pre-party” with Absolut drink specials, get free cover to July 4th’s official Absolut Red and White party. They just want you to wear red and white to show that Independence Day pride. Unfortunately, I won’t be checking this one out, but I’ll wear white for solidarity!

Platinum Sound on Second Street will have live street performances as well as studio tours, so if you’ve ever wondered what was behind the blacked out windows (I know I have) now’s your chance to find out!

Stuff To Buy

Don’t forget about the Cotton Avenue/Cherry Street before Second Street “L” that is full of surprises. First, Cotton Avenue – Stop by Meadows Fine Jewelry for sales, music, drinks and snacks and tell my girl Kara, “What’s Up!!!” and maybe buy yourself a little something. Across the street at Treasure Vintage, you’re sure to find something uniquely for you. I got some jeans from there that makes my ass look great and actually fits, so I know you can find something for you. Plus, she always has a sale going, and who doesn’t like a sale? Also, check out Dot’s Forget-Me-Nots on Cherry Street. Have they got a sale for you!

Mid South Travel on Cherry Street will be open until 6:30pm, so if you’ve always wanted to set your sights on far off destination, I suggest you start there!

Studio 481 on Broadway will showcase artist Timothy Hedden’s Original Art Exhibit “Show and Sell”. This dude isn’t beating around the bush. Buy art!

4th of July and 5th of July

Ya’ll, that was JUST First Friday! – Saturday the 4th also has some interesting “doings” – like fireworks at Sandy Beach on Lake Tobesofkee (watch out for werewolves), Fort Hawkins fireworks, July 4th Park celebrations, and birthday parties at Envy (Happy Birthday, Fourth!). The 5th of July brings us Kung Fu Panda at the Cox Capital Theatre for just $5 – not including meal, which you can totally buy and EAT WHILE YOU’RE WATCHING THE MOVIE!!! I know, I get a little excited, but it’s something different and it’s something I love! Kung Fu Panda shows at 6pm. You can also catch College Hill Corridor’s FREE showing of Field of Dreams in Central City Park. You can start hanging out at 7:30, but the movie starts at nine. Pack a picnic (who doesn’t love a picnic?), grab some good friends and head on down. It’s free and you know you’ll have food leftover from your 4th of July festivities!

Damn, that’s a good looking weekend!

One response to “Snacking on Festivities”

  1. newtownmacon says :

    Thanks for the First Friday mention – glad to hear you had fun! We had fun too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

