Snacking on Madonna, Michael and Prince

Well, I won’t be snacking. I’ll be at a family function. But I took part in Jessica Walden-Griner’s 80s themed birthday party and that was a blast, from the past no less.

I don’t know who’ll be out there, but I’m getting the news for it on facebook and from people right around my age who probably have the same stories I do.

I remember when Like a Virgin came out. I was all of 9 years old and ready to be influenced. I just had a mother that didn’t take kindly to lacy fingerless gloves and skirts over shorts. And who remembers the first time they heard Get Into the Groove from Madonna’s movie, Desperately Seeking Susan? I might not have been able to imitate her in dress, but I imitated her free spirit in my heart. (awwww!)

We did own the Thriller album, which is part of the category “things we lost in the fire”. Michael, all laid out in black and white, his gheri curl glistening, smiled beguilingly at you from the cover and we mis-sang the words to Billie Jean and laughed when Weird Al spoofed Beat It with “Eat It”.

No one else may have this story, but Prince was the reason we spelled my younger sister’s middle name Nikki. Years later, she blamed us for naming her after a prostitute, but what did we know? We were young and star struck. Darling Nikki, I Would Die 4 U, hell, the whole Purple Rain album was a house favourite.

Anyway, the party info:
Saturday, November 15, 2008 at 10:00pm – 2:00am

Location:

The SoChi Gallery
534 Second Street

DJ Roger Riddle, DJ Tagg and Dirt Dog will be spinning. From the press release:

[T]he three deejays will be celebrating 50 years of the three pop icons by playing nothing but the music of Michael Jackson, Madonna and Prince. Party-goers are encouraged to dress in theme with the music – anything associated with Michael, Madonna and Prince goes.

Because this is a benefit, the public (21 & over) is invited without making prior reservations. Admission is a cash donation that will go directly to the Mentors Project of Bibb County, a non-profit organization that matches at-risk youth with community mentors in order to reduce the high school drop-out rate. Party-goers are encouraged to give generously. A cash bar will be provided by Good to Go Catering.

Sorry I can’t be there Macon, but you do the damn thing and make momma proud.

One response to “Snacking on Madonna, Michael and Prince”

  1. Susan Kishner says :

    I found your site on Google and read a few of your other entires. Nice Stuff. I’m looking forward to reading more from you.

Leave a Reply

